My Saw Kit

Got a question? New to the forum? Feel free to post your questions here.

My Saw Kit

Postby DucksinOR » September 17th, 2016, 9:22 am

Hi,

I am brand new to crosscuts but I have been interested in traditional woodworking for over 10 years.

I picked up this nice tuttle/champion tooth 66" bucking saw at an antique store and it came with the 2 handles. The only marking on the saw is N. 438 stamped on both ends of the blade. It has no etching but it is crescent taper ground. One of the handles is marked Atkins 24 and the other is unmarked.
100_4225.JPG
100_4226.JPG

100_4228.JPG
100_4229.JPG
100_4227.JPG
I spent about an hour cleaning the saw and it looks pretty good with no major pitting.

My next post will include some of the tools I have gotten to sharpen the saw.
DucksinOR

Re: My Saw Kit

Postby Jim_Thode » September 17th, 2016, 9:37 am

Looks like it could be a good user saw with a little time sharpening. You can find pretty much every thing you would need to sharpen a saw at:
http://www.bchw.org/Tech%20tips/Crosscu ... pening.htm

Jim
Jim_Thode

Postby DucksinOR » September 17th, 2016, 9:40 am

I have also gotten a Disston short jointer/raker gauge along with some saw stakes (including a really nice looking blue Atkins one), a saw set (for normal saws) and a tooth bender off of e-bay I only intend to use the jointer/raker gauge and saw set but the lot was cheaper than buying individual tools.

On the Disston jointer there is a little knob that rotates and is marked with different numbers. Do you have any idea what that is for? I am guessing it is a pin gauge of some sort but have no idea what the markings mean.

For my anvil I have a 2.5 lb. hammer head with the face ground smooth and for my setting/swedging hammer I bought a 5 oz Estwing tack hammer that I am going to add some weight to to bring it up to around 8 oz. I am thinking of wrapping the center of the head with some wire. Any thoughts?