Intro to the site and how to get your account activated

Postby woodman » January 15th, 2016, 1:56 pm

Hallo Everybody,
I am quiet happy to be in this forum.

sorry for my bad english, my mother langage is german, i live in austria.

I do my firewood with handsaw and axe for almost a decade.
Since 2 years i live in a old farmers house only heated with wood, so i need much more wood than before.
But i still can manage to make enough fire wood for my needs without any powertools.
i'm studying logging traditions in and out of europe, and need you guys for my further research.
It looks like that one can not get any usable crosscut saw within the german language area. (I'm not able to search in skandinavien area) :roll:

i would need a good one man saw with lance tooth to cut fir and spruce to about 2,5 feed in diameter (sometimes more)
i only cut blown wood often fallen in not flat terrain so the saw should be stiff enough for inclined cuts
and probably a good skewback 4' champion tooth for green and seasoned hardwood

i do not have any experience with either champion or lance tooth pattern crosscut saws except bow saws

( i actually work with a japanese crosscut saw which is working very good in green wood without knots in the cut)

but i am about to start cutting bigger trees and are really interested to further improve my skills in sawing and filling.

Is there anybody out there helping me to get a saw and appropriate jointing and racker tool?
Shipping to Austria is often a problem on ebay, and since tax and shipping is expensive, a skilled filer knows better what to bid for?!
woodman

Re: New Member

Postby dayle1960 » January 16th, 2016, 2:41 am

Gooden Tag, Woodman. (Sorry, my German is horrible).

Hope you find what you are looking for. There are members here who can assist you and maybe give you ideas on where to look.

http://www.theaxehole.com/default.htm

Maybe this website can guide you to find a jointer or other crosscut saw filing tools. Hope this helps.