Proto Saw Fest - Scotland, late 2013

Discussions about other types of tools, logging history, trail maintenance, etc.

Proto Saw Fest - Scotland, late 2013

Postby Gavin Longrain » July 1st, 2013, 1:40 pm

I plan a gathering of saw filers here in Scotland later this year here in my workshops Dalbeattie, Scotland. Date is flexible at present (possibly Sat 2 and Sun 3 November 2013) and the date would be highly influenced by the arrival of any knowledgeable saw filer from US. Given we are self-taught and find this forum incredibly valuable, we'd love it if anyone who knows a bit about saw filing wished to join us for the skill-share weekend to be called "Proto Saw Fest". Sadly, there won't be a contribution to your air fares to Proto Saw Fest, but at least you'd have to pay nowt for accomodation if you were a knowledgeable filer and came here to help us. I call it Proto Saw Fest, cos I'll organise a Real Saw Fest once I have had a practise run and worked out the problems. ( And if you were a competent filer and thinking of coming to UK, you may be better advised to come later for Real Saw Fest, as I can then sell your skills to others and so may then be able to pay towards your airfare.)

Participants at Proto Saw Fest will pay nothing for tuition ( because I cannot yet demonstrate value for tuition) but will pay for resources used. I think capacity would be 8 persons. I have 4 definites so far, one highly probable and 2 maybes.

Outline Agenda- suggestions welcomed for additions / variations:

1. On the Friday before the actual weekend, make saw-vises for those that lack them - I'll procure materials to suit.
    2. For those that wish to buy new water-jet cut saw plate(s) that I am about to source: File and fit such new sawplates, starting with a common non-raker pattern so we are all filing the same profile and can compare techniques and results better. (And no, I don't yet know the price of such saw plates, but will v soon!)