Home made axe handles

Discussions about other types of tools, logging history, trail maintenance, etc.

Home made axe handles

Postby Dale Torma » May 14th, 2016, 7:49 am

I have been making some of my own axe handles for a couple decades now, my local wood choices are limited to green ash ( indistinguishable wood difference compared to white ash) a couple oak species, hard maple, hop hornbeam (difficult to find but hard as hickory), white and yellow birch. Birch is most common, but due to its softness is only suitable for long socketed axes, such as Vintage Finnish axes, which were designed to use birch if necessary.
This first handle is birch, for a Finnish axe, a 1938 Kellokoski, forged in the Mariefors forge for the Finnish army, it is a 12-1 in size. That is one of the Finnish size designations. 12-1, 12-2 and 12-3 descending in size from the largest and formerly most popular 12-1, which is a general purpose felling axe.
Here is the head. Beneath it is a 12-3, a boys axe or pack size axe
image.jpg

Here is the tree that had the proper curve, partially hewed in place
image.jpg

Here the piece of wood is at home, roughed out a bit along with a similar one of hard maple
image.jpg

I'll have to figure this out, the pics are not posting correctly
Attachments
image.jpg
image.jpg
Dale Torma

Re: Home made axe handles

Postby Dale Torma » May 14th, 2016, 8:24 am

This particular handle pattern was from a Finnish Army manual. Many Finnish handles were severely curved, historical records indicate the curved handles had been used in Finland and other northern countries for centuries, contrary to what some people are writing today.